Important people and those who protect them

Well, Day 2 at the World Economic Forum and I woke up to the sound of helicopters flying around the city. Having lived in Los Angeles for most of my life, I thought it would be just any commercial or new chopper flying around trying to get a scope on today’s event or pictures of someone important shaking hands. But, boy was I wrong. A military grade chopper just flew over me.

So given that there are many important people here at the forum, security is no joke. The Swiss took all precautions as they deployed their military to help keep all these important people safe. Anyone who is anyone has body guards. 3, 5, and some even a whole football team worth. All in suits, all with sunglasses.

So it got me wondering, just how much is this conference really going to help the world? Is it worth the money being spent here right now? I mean I am a poor student and I just paid the full registration fee and the plane ticket for the experience. Some of these people probably came on private jets and bring along their family and distance family, or at least I think.

I do not know how much this will cost in the end if everyone adds up their spending. But I know if that money was used to help but latrines around the world, a lot of people would have proper sanitation and there will be money left to help maintain it too.

About t5huang

Masters in Environmental Science at UPenn Candidate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

