World Toilet Day – Composting Toilets

Today is World Toilet Day. It may seem weird but I am currently sitting on the toilet ( no I am not using the toilet, I just thought it would bring more importance to this day just to know how lucky I am to have a toilet.)

Although not common in the US, a composting toilet is gaining popularity in some European cities. During my short stay at Stockholm during World Water Week earlier in September, I had the pleasure of using a composting toilet. So what is my take on the toilet? Well, I didn’t know about it until I wanted to flush the toilet and cannot find the lever.

The first question that people ask when I tell them of my experience is whether it smells or not. And the design makes it so that it does not smell or at least the same smell as a normal toilet. The fact that these composting toilets can be installed at home make the argument of smell irrelevant.

So why the popularity in Europe? The popularity of individuals looking to disconnect themselves from local utilities is making these toilets sell. European also have a different thinking as those in the United States. For many of us, the reason why we would not use a composting toilet is more psychological then physical barriers.

So will composting toilets become popular in the US? Well I just ordered one and cannot wait for it to be delivered in 5 to 10 weeks.

About t5huang

Masters in Environmental Science at UPenn Candidate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

